Some Gorgeous Press!

There is nothing like the feeling of completing something so wonderful that it gives you a rush every time you think of it. For me, I can trigger an absolute tidal wave of serotonin each time I think about the finale to the Gorgeousness Programme that began back in November.

Then yesterday, on perusing the Style of Wight magazine, I was really excited to see this amazing article! Look – the energy oof the day captured in text and photography. Look!

The House of Bethan

Because this mag is only available on the Isle of Wight and because many of you are international beauties, I have included the text and photographs so you can be in on the gorgeousness too. If you live on the isle and can grab a copy, the article is Issue 27, March/April and on page 28.  Here it is ….

“On Friday 28th Feb, Style of Wight headed to the Kingswood Centre where a group of girls from Medina Academy were about to embark on the challenge of a life-time: to climb a 33 foot pole and then leap off in a declaration of positive self-esteem and body love.

“Kingswood was the ideal choice for the Gorgeousness Programme finale,” says Bethan Christopher, creator of the workshop that has been running at the school since November.  “The aim is to help girls and women to break glass ceilings caused by negative body image, shift their internal narrative then empower them to reach their full potential.”

The House of Bethan

One by one, the girls are helped on with their harnesses and edge gingerly towards the pole. The first few steps up are easy, but as the rain gets heavier and metal rungs give way to soggy wood foot-supports, the going gets tough …

 Confidence begins to slip.

Clapping and coaching the girls to push onwards, Bethan explains the impact that low self esteem has on the choices we make. “It leads onto all sorts of problems; substance abuse, underage sex and dysfunctional relationships to name a few. High self-esteem is a key factor in children – and adults – fulfilling their potential.”

“The beauty of coming here is that there is no room to consider whether your hair looks nice or if your make-up is smeared. This is between the girl, their body and their mind,” Bethan grins.

She looks up at where the final student has broken through her fear and is balancing precariously on the top of the pole. The air is filled with the whoops of impassioned young women, clapping and shouting encouragement, as they stare up at their friend.

The House of Bethan

The girl painstakingly, pulls herself up on the rope until she is standing at the very top looking down on the world.

“I can’t believe I’m standing on the top of a 33 foot pole!” she cries out in disbelief. Then grabbing hold of the rope, she shuts her eyes … and leaps.  

For more information about the Gorgeousness Programme email …

Bethan@thegorgeousnessprogramme.com

Or visit www.bethanchristopher.com

 These quotes weren’t included in the original article but I love them so much that I wanted to share them with you lovely people at the House of B.

Before the Programme: “I second guessed myself and hated how I look.”

After: “Perfect is impossible. Be individual. Be you. Be HAPPY.”

 

Before the Programme: “I acted like someone I wasn’t, obsessed about food and wouldn’t leave the house without thick make up.”

After: “Believe in yourself. Know you can do anything.  Love you who are.”

 

Before the Programme: “I felt ugly, worthless, binged on chocolate then starved myself.”

After: “I’m gorgeous, amazing and can value myself for who I am. I can smile.”

xxx

 

 

6 thoughts on “Some Gorgeous Press!

  1. I wish there had been someone like you when we were at Medina (if that makes any sense, since you were there!). Sounds trite, but I love how you are living the ‘be the change you want to see in the world’. All positive thoughts and mother godessy feelings for your impending birthing. Joyous welcome for the new life x x x x

    • Haha, thank you Kayt and I get what you mean. It feel peculiarly karmic and circular being back in the place. And what’s also bizarre about what you are saying is that our little circle of girls, who we were, the books we read and what we stood for, had a great/deep impact on who I was becoming (as I’m sure it did all of us). You – and your mum in particular- influenced me in a particularly powerful way. Goddess energy to the max. I still recall a newspaper cutting on your fridge …
      Thank you for your joyous welcome of this baby boy. Everything has gone rather quiet, which is quite nice as I am sitting on my sofa listening to the wind in the branches and seeing a little geranium burst out of its green pocket … which is probably the most Zen I’ve been for a while. Big love to you Clan Sister xxx

Leave a Reply

