Brand Me Baby (I’m Loving It!)

Remember when McDonalds did their whole brand overhaul a few years back?

There was more cheese in that strap-line “I’m lovin’ it” than any of their Big Macs. Every other burger or Happy Meal advert on TV then involved some musical slant on those three words. It was toe-curlingly cringe-ish … almost on par with L’Oreal’s strap line, “because I’m wurrrrth it” and I’m 100% sure that the bosses up at McDonalds and L’Oreal would agree.

So why do it? Why would the intelligent, profit-hungry brains in charge of billion-dollar companies agree to use such tacky slogans?

Well.

Are you sitting comfortably?

Then I shall begin …

 

I reckon – and these are simply reckonings – that through investing a feeling into a product this emotion is then triggered in the buyer.

Take the intricately clever mind manipulation used by Coca Cola in their slogan “the real thing”. When you hear this enough it gets to the point that no other cola is going to measure up or feel “real” in comparison. Coca Cola becomes The One. It isn’t just Coca Cola anymore but the only cola worth buying. How is this feeling of authenticity in the buyer generated? Simple. Drip feed them constant reminders that this is “the real thing”. Add to the auditory jingle a whole batch of All American Kid visuals and not only is Coca-Coal sold as “the real thing”, but so the white-blonde American lifestyle. Two birds, one can.

At this point Coca-Cola stops being an innocent brown, fizzy drink found in every coffee shop fridge and supermarket across the known world. Now it becomes a vehicle to steer a whole planet of cultural diversity towards One aspiration for the American Way.

Talk to anyone who has travelled into the wilderness cultures, up mountains in Nepal and beyond and they’ll tell you of the shacks tagged all over with Coca-Cola branding. Wherever you go, you can be sure that Coca Cola has been there, branded it and those familiar red and white letters will greet your eye.

In the case of McDonald and the cheesy, “I’m luuuv-ving it,” slogan, something equally clever is taking place. Not only does the slogan associate the food with a feeling love, which, lets face it, is probably the feeling that humans hold most sacred, but it also acts on a hypnotic subconscious level.

The human subconscious behaves rather like a satellite navigation system. You set an intention and your subconscious sets about to achieve it, whether that’s, “I’m making dinner” or “I’m going to paint a flower”. Drip in enough intentions, such as “I’m not good enough” or “I am born to succeed” and those intentions become beliefs that then affect what we do with our time, energy and cash.

The McDonalds slogan imprints your subconscious again and again with a very simple, powerfully worded intention; I Am Loving It.

The truth is – let’s face it – McDonalds food is shit. We know it is. So why do the burgers seem so appealing? And why is one burger never quite enough? Because our subconscious mind – without our say so – has naturally taken on the belief “I’m Loving It”. And what do we do if we’re loving something? We want more. And more. And McDonalds grows richy-roo.

Same with L’Oreal. Buy the product and feel the worth. What is better than a feeling of high-self worth? Thanks L’Oreal. You’re lovely, you are! Better buy some more …

Can you think of any more slogans from these massive companies and what they might mean?

The one I got stuck on was Tesco and “every little helps”. All the way to my workshop yesterday I was driving and thinking “every little helps, every little helps”, but I just couldn’t quite suss it out. All I kept imagining was people slotting pennies into a machine and the idea that, you don’t need to spend a lot at Tesco but all of your pennies do add up and help the Tesco Super Power grow big and fat. Despite this, no conclusion. Tesco psychology is beyond me.

Later that day I arrived home and found a blank envelope lying on my doormat. I opened it up and there was nothing in it except two cards. They were shaped like credit cards and on each of them it said “Tesco. £25.00 gift cards.”

It was like I thought enough times, “every little helps” and then Tesco then sent me fifty pounds. They heard my wish! They received my intention in the same way that Father Christmas receives letters from children all over the world.

So there you have it.

Tesco have taken mind control to a whole new level.

They are Actually Psychic.

Thank you Tesco. You are quite right. Every little helps. You are the real thing and I’m loving you. Mwah. Mwah. Mwah.

6 thoughts on “Brand Me Baby (I’m Loving It!)

  1. I’m reminded of water torture. Great piece. And I’ve enjoyed knowing you, because McDonalds are coming after your atrocious slur on their products. “I’m lovin’ shit”.

    • Mmm, do you reckon I’ll get a knock on the door from a Ronald McDonald hitman? Would be like something from Steven King’s IT, but all this clown’d have to do is make me eat a few Big Macs (“Heart disease, helloooo!”) PS. You’ve bloddy got that song lodged in my head now … “I’m loving shit.” EMMMMMAAAAHHHHH!

  2. We are also becoming walking adverts for these commercial enterprises, we have lost our own personal style and taste and have become “brands”, and thereby branded. Nike’s logo of just do it… just do what?… walk into a store and buy their product so that you buy into the lifestyle of showing off your “brand” and fitting in with other branded people, and hoping you fit in with the trendy people who just “do” it. Me, I’d rather be untrendy, unique, and have a few more pennies to spend on real things that matter.

    Sorry for the rant Bethan, your great article provoked it, as it got me thinking 🙂

    • Hello Michelle,
      Rant away, Gorgeous! Ever since writing this post I have been thinking more and more about brand slogans and songs. Weirdly I keep on getting cereal ones for some reason. One was “I’d rather have a bowl of cocoa pops!” Quite a basic one but still, I wonder how many kids say this when their mum’s are offering them a healthy option for brekfast? Another cereal slogan is “Kellogs Crunchy Nut Cornflakes. Have you forgotten how good they taste?” If you say “YES I have!” then you are affirming to yourself how good they taste. If you say “no, I haven’t forgotten”, you’re also affirming how good they taste. Either way, it encourages your brain to trigger memories of gooood tasting cornflakes and the next time you’re at the super market your hand reaches over and before you know it, you’re grabbing the golden box. Only prob is that your kid is then tugging on your jumper, crying, “Nooo! I’d rather have a bowl of cocoa pops!” xxx

Leave a Reply

