What do you say to a sixteen year old?

A couple of days ago I was looking at the wordpress blog “Arriving At Your Own Door”.

Jenny had posted a letter that she had written to her 16 year old self and was asking others what they would write to themselves at that age. I have been thinking a lot about this since. What would I want to say to myself at this age? Would I want to interfere with who I was then? After all, everything I did, said and was, have all resulted in the life I now live. There are things that I chose then, which, many people said was wrong, stupid or crazy, yet now I look back, I was a really tuned in, enlightened and pioneering young woman. Seriously! Part of me feels like me then was a completely different person to me now. I have evolved in some ways and de evolved in others. Whilst some parts of my Self have blossomed, others have folded in.  

That feels sad. Strange. Why am I a different person?  I want to explore my relationship to who I was back then further and to do this, I intend to write the letter.

I’ve used the exercise of writing to myself in the past before. As a 13 year old child I wrote a letter to my 21 year old self (that I couldn’t resist reading when I was about 15!) As an adult, during Inner Child Healing work, I’ve written to 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8 year old Bethans and the results were breathtaking. In my Gorgeousness writings I often write to the deep, wise part of the Self. I have also written to future Selves on a number of occasions.

16 year old Bethan has always been left out of this process which is strange because masses of things happened when I was sixteen. The experiences stuffed into that year were more profound than any other year of my life. I’ve got to go and help someone set up their Etsy shop now … and later it’s Tennis For Beginners II, but when I’m back I’ll sit and write the letter.

Who were you aged 16?

Do you feel connected to that young person, or are they lost in some distant, foggy part of your past?

Would you like to build a relationship with that part of you again? Which five words would you use to describe your 16 year old self?

And, hey … I know that most 16 year olds are getting up to all sorts of naughty stuff, so no one is going to be shocked!

One thought on “What do you say to a sixteen year old?

Leave a Reply

